SAMTRANS

CORRESPONDENCE

as of 4-10-2020

2020 BOARD OF DIRECTORS



DAVE PINE, CHAIR DEVORA "DEV" DAVIS, VICE CHAIR CHERYL BRINKMAN JEANNIE BRUINS CINDY CHAVEZ STEVE HEMINGER RON COLLINS CHARLES STONE SHAMANN WALTON MONIQUE ZMUDA

samTrans

KARYL MATSUMOTO, CHAIR PETER RATTO, VICE CHAIR RON COLLINS MARINA FRASER CAROLE GROOM ROSE GUILBAULT DAVE PINE JOSH POWELL CHARLES STONE



EMILY BEACH, CHAIR RICO E. MEDINA, VICE CHAIR CAROLE GROOM DON HORSLEY JULIA MATES KARYL MATSUMOTO CARLOS ROMERO

1250 SAN CARLOS AVE SAN CARLOS, CA 94070 (650) 508-6200

April 8, 2020

The Honorable Elaine L. Chao Secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Ave, SE Washington, DC 20590

Dear Secretary Chao:

On behalf of the Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Authority (Caltrain), the San Mateo County Transit District (SamTrans), and the San Mateo County Transportation Authority (Transportation Authority), I write to thank you for your support of public transportation funding included in the "Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act" or the CARES Act.

We are in an unprecedented time in our country's history due to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) and the CARES Act comes at a critical time for transit agencies.

As public transportation has been deemed an essential service and continues to operate, significant revenue losses have been felt. Both Caltrain and SamTrans have experienced severe ridership declines as a result of the region-wide "shelter-in-place" public health order. On the first day of the order, Caltrain recorded a 95 percent decrease in average daily ticket sales which has dramatic financial impacts because 70 percent of the operating budget comes from fares. In the two subsequent weeks since the "shelter-inplace order," SamTrans ridership was down nearly 80 percent.

The CARES Act provides a viable path forward for transit agencies and I want to thank you again for your support of public transportation that is so fundamental to the vitality and health of the region, state, and the entire country. We truly appreciate all of your efforts.

Sincerely Jim Hartnett

Executive Director/General Manager/Chief Executive Officer

Cc: Federal Transit Administration Acting Administrator K. Jane Williams Federal Transit Administration Executive Director Matthew Welbes